Skip to content

We may be paid when you buy through our links. Who pays us never changes what we show. How we make money

Guide: winter storm kit

Winter storm power outage kit: what to buy before the first ice storm

Heat first, then the medical device, then the refrigerator. A 1 kWh power station covers a blanket, a CPAP and a lamp for a night; a 2 kWh unit adds the fridge; the furnace blower needs a unit of its own or a recharge window. Every wattage is a utility's or a maker's, with the arithmetic shown.

About 690 Wh
A 10-hour night: 55 W blanket, dry CPAP and a lamp (our arithmetic)
About 1,320 Wh
The same night with a fridge labeled 550 kWh a year

Our arithmetic from utility charts, ResMed's guide and the makers' pages, Oct 7, 2026. See source

A family plays cards by candlelight in a dark living room while rain falls outside.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. The kit, in priority order
  3. A 10-hour winter night in watt-hours (our arit...
  4. Which size for which night
  5. Hours per unit, one load at a time (75 percent...
  6. Charging and operating temperature, as published
  7. Carbon monoxide and heater rules
  8. Food: the 4-hour and 48-hour clocks
  9. The non-electrical checklist, from Ready.gov
  10. What a 120 V station will not run
  11. Units that cover the fridge night
  12. Winter kit questions
  13. Sources

Key facts

  • An electric blanket draws 55 W in Jackery's example and 180 W in a utility chart; a space heater draws 900 to 1,500 W124. The blanket is the winter buy.
  • A 10-hour night of blanket, dry CPAP and a lamp needs about 690 Wh; with a 550 kWh-a-year fridge, about 1,320 Wh (our arithmetic). Divide by 0.75 for the stated capacity to shop for.
  • A gas furnace blower averages about 200 W on a cold night (350 W, on 58 percent of the time)3: about 7.6 hours of a 2 kWh unit on its own.
  • Charging limits differ: 32 F for the Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus, 14 F for the HomePower 1000 Plus v2; the Lion Summit operates from 32 F91011. Charge indoors, before the storm.
  • The CPSC: heaters three feet from anything that burns, never on a power strip; generators outside, 20 feet from the house7.

The kit, in priority order

Buy down this list; each step links to the full arithmetic.

  1. Step 1

    Heat you can afford to run

    An electric blanket per bed. At 55 W it runs about 14 hours on a 1 kWh unit; a 1,500 W heater empties a 2 kWh unit in about an hour124. See blanket vs space heater.

  2. Step 2

    The medical device

    A CPAP draws about 11 W dry and about 28 W with the humidifier at 4 in ResMed's table, 60 W in a utility chart35. Confirm backup power with your supplier. See CPAP on a power station.

  3. Step 3

    The refrigerator, after four hours

    Closed, a fridge keeps food safe up to 4 hours and a full freezer about 486. Past that, a fridge labeled 550 kWh a year averages about 63 W. See refrigerator runtime.

  4. Step 4

    Phones, router, lights

    Jackery's own example runs a 5 W light for 24 hours on a 293 Wh unit4. Charge phones from the USB ports, not through the inverter.

  5. Step 5

    The furnace blower, if it is wired

    About 350 W while running, through a transfer switch or inlet installed by an electrician3. See furnace blower runtime.

  6. Step 6

    A way to put energy back

    Solar panels, the car's 12 V socket, or a fuel generator outdoors at least 20 feet from the house7. See power station or generator.

A 10-hour winter night in watt-hours (our arithmetic)

Watts x hours. Add the rows you need, then divide by 0.75 for the stated capacity to shop for.

LoadDrawHoursWh needed
Electric blanket (Jackery's example)455 W10550
Electric blanket (utility chart)1180 W101,800
CPAP, no humidifier (ResMed, 12 V DC)511 W889
CPAP (utility chart)360 W8480
Refrigerator labeled 550 kWh a year663 W average10630
LED lamp (Jackery's example)45 W1050
Gas furnace blower, cold night (350 W, on 58%)3About 200 W average102,000
Space heater on high (Lasko)21,500 W11,500
SourceUtility charts, makers, ResMedRead Oct 7, 2026Our assumptionRead Oct 7, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 7, 2026

The fridge row is the EnergyGuide method from our fridge guide; the compressor itself runs at 400 to 500 W3.

Which size for which night

Add up the night, then divide by 0.75. A 55 W blanket, a dry CPAP and a lamp for 10 hours is about 690 Wh, so about 920 Wh of stated capacity. A 1,024 Wh unit such as the Jackery HomePower 1000 Plus v2 ($629.00 on October 7) covers it with a little to spare10. The 665 Wh Lion Summit does not; it is a blanket-and-phones unit, and showed sold out that day11.

Add the fridge and you are in 2 kWh territory. With a fridge labeled 550 kWh a year the night is about 1,320 Wh, so about 1,760 Wh stated. The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 (2,042 Wh, $864.00 on October 7) and HomePower 2000 Plus v2 (2,048 Wh, $1,014.00) clear it1314. The 1,612 Wh Lion Safari gives about 1,209 Wh usable by our arithmetic, about 110 Wh short, so the fridge runs most of the night12.

The furnace blower is a unit of its own. At about 200 W average it takes about 2,000 Wh over 10 hours, more than a single 2 kWh unit has left after the essentials: plan a second unit, a battery pack or a daytime recharge via the furnace guide and the 2 kWh hub. Buy output as well: a fridge compressor runs at 400 to 500 W and starts higher3; the 1 kWh hub and runtime guide list output per unit.

Hours per unit, one load at a time (75 percent usable)

Our arithmetic: stated Wh x 0.75 / watts, to one decimal as in the furnace guide.

Power stationStated Wh (output)Blanket 55 WCPAP 60 WFridge 63 W avgBlower, cold night 200 W
Lion Summit11665 Wh (530 W)9.18.37.92.5
Jackery HomePower 1000 Plus v2101,024 Wh (1,800 W)14.012.812.23.8
Lion Safari121,612 Wh (3,000 W)22.020.219.26.0
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2142,042 Wh (2,200 W)27.825.524.47.6
Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2132,048 Wh (2,400 W)27.925.624.47.6
Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus92,042.8 Wh (3,000 W)27.925.524.47.6
SourceMaker product pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 7, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 7, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 7, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 7, 2026

Our arithmetic: stated capacity (Wh) x 0.75 / appliance watts. The 0.75 usable share is the highest implied by the makers' own runtime examples we read (Jackery Explorer 300: 55 W blanket for 4 hours from 293 Wh); small loads get much less. A real appliance cycles on and off, so measure it if you can. The Lion Summit's 530 W output is below a compressor's or blower's start draw311.

Charging and operating temperature, as published

A dash means the page we read on October 7 did not state it.

Power stationChargingDischarging or operatingStorage
Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus932 to 113 F14 to 113 F (discharge)Not stated by the source
Jackery HomePower 1000 Plus v21014 to 113 F14 to 113 F (discharge)Not stated by the source
Lion Summit11Not stated by the source32 to 104 F (operating)14 to 113 F
Lion Safari12Not stated by the sourceNot stated by the sourceNot stated by the source
SourceMaker product pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Maker product pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Maker product pagesRead Oct 7, 2026

Charge the station to full indoors when the Winter Storm Warning arrives (usually 12 to 24 hours ahead, per Ready.gov8) and keep it inside during the outage; a garage can drop below 32 F.

Carbon monoxide and heater rules

The CPSC's rules for a portable heater: keep all sides at least three feet from beds, clothes, curtains, papers, sofas and other items that can catch fire; place it on a stable, level surface; never leave it running unattended in a confined space; and plug an electric heater into a wall outlet, never a power strip7. On a power station, use the station's own AC outlet. Generators: outside only, at least 20 feet from the house, never in a home, garage, basement, crawlspace or shed, with battery-operated CO alarms, or alarms with battery backup, on each level and outside sleeping areas7. Ready.gov adds: never heat your home with a gas stovetop or oven8. A battery power station makes no exhaust, which is why it can sit beside the bed.

Food: the 4-hour and 48-hour clocks

FoodSafety.gov: a refrigerator keeps food safe for up to 4 hours during an outage; a full freezer holds a safe temperature for approximately 48 hours, 24 if half full, with the door closed6. So the fridge is the thing to power after about four hours; a full freezer may need no power in a one-day outage. Keep both doors shut.

The non-electrical checklist, from Ready.gov

Nothing here needs a battery. Ready.gov's own words, read October 7, 20268.

  • Supplies for several days

    'Gather supplies in case you need to stay home for several days without power. Keep in mind each person's specific needs, including medication. Remember the needs of your pets.'

  • Batteries and alarms

    'Have extra batteries for radios and flashlights.' 'Install and test smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors with battery backups.'

  • The car kit

    'Include jumper cables, sand, a flashlight, warm clothes, blankets, bottled water and non-perishable snacks. Keep a full tank of gas.'

  • Use the warning window

    'Winter Storm Warnings are usually issued 12 to 24 hours before the event is expected to begin.' Charge the station to full and fill the car. 'Learn how to keep pipes from freezing.'

What a 120 V station will not run

No single 120 V portable power station runs central air, a ducted heat pump or a 240 V well pump. Whole-house electric heat and a 240 V range are in the same category: a fuel generator outdoors under the CPSC's rules, or a whole-home battery; see power station or generator. Jackery's Explorer 2000 Plus gives 120/240 V only with two units in parallel9; our review covers it.

Units that cover the fridge night

Each maker's page has the price of the day and the full spec sheet; today's prices are on the deals page.

Good for blanket, CPAP, lamp and fridge for a night, with margin

Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 and HomePower 2000 Plus v2

Fridge, 550 kWh label
About 24 hours on 2,042 or 2,048 Wh (our estimate)
Battery Pack 2000 Plus
$799.00
Explorer 2000 Plus Portable Power Station
$1,429.00 with two 100W solar panels
Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station
$899.00
HomePower 2000 Plus v2
$1,014.00
Checked
Oct 8, 2026

Good for 3,000 W output for a blower or a short heater burst

Lion Safari

Blower, cold night
About 6 hours on 1,612 Wh (our estimate)
Listed price
$1,399.00
Checked
Oct 8, 2026

Winter kit questions

What size power station do I need for a winter storm?

Add one night's loads in watt-hours and divide by 0.75. A 55 W blanket, a dry CPAP and a lamp are about 690 Wh, so about 920 Wh stated: a 1 kWh unit. With a 550 kWh-a-year fridge it is about 1,320 Wh, so about 1,760 Wh stated: a 2 kWh unit (our arithmetic).

Can a power station run a space heater?

Only a unit rated above 1,500 W, for about an hour per 2 kWh2. Use it for a short, attended warm-up; put the night on a blanket.

Can I charge the station in a cold garage?

Check the model: the Explorer 2000 Plus charges at 32 to 113 F, the HomePower 1000 Plus v2 at 14 to 113 F, the Lion Summit operates at 32 to 104 F91011; the Lion Safari page gave no limit12. Charging indoors avoids the question.

Do I need to power the freezer?

Usually not in a one-day outage: a full freezer holds a safe temperature about 48 hours closed, 24 if half full, per FoodSafety.gov6. The refrigerator needs power after about 4 hours.

What should I buy first on a tight budget?

The electric blanket, a CO alarm with battery backup and the non-electrical kit; then a 1 kWh unit for blanket, medical device and phones; then 2 kWh for the fridge. Today's prices per Wh are on the deals page.

Sources

  1. Electricity use and appliancesUtilities Kingston, read Oct 7, 2026
  2. Lasko 9-inch Ceramic Space Heater (model 754200)Lasko, read Oct 7, 2026
  3. Appliance energy use chartsOtter Tail Power Company, read Oct 7, 2026
  4. Explorer 300 Portable Power Station (runtime examples)Jackery, read Oct 7, 2026
  5. Battery Guide: using stand-alone, deep-cycle batteries (PDF)ResMed, read Oct 7, 2026
  6. Food Safety During Power OutageFoodSafety.gov, read Oct 7, 2026
  7. CPSC Issues Winter Weather Safety Tips to Prevent Fires and Carbon Monoxide Poisoning (March 16, 2026)US CPSC, read Oct 7, 2026
  8. Winter WeatherReady.gov (FEMA), read Oct 7, 2026
  9. Explorer 2000 Plus Portable Power StationJackery, read Oct 7, 2026
  10. HomePower 1000 Plus v2Jackery, read Oct 7, 2026
  11. Lion SummitLion Energy, read Oct 7, 2026
  12. Lion SafariLion Energy, read Oct 7, 2026
  13. HomePower 2000 Plus v2Jackery, read Oct 7, 2026
  14. Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power StationJackery, read Oct 7, 2026

About this page

We may be paid when you buy through links on this page.

We may be paid when you buy through links on this page.

Prices and specifications are each maker's own, as listed on the date shown, and change often during sales. The maker's page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

Runtime figures are estimates from stated capacity, not measurements. OutageReady Guide does not sell power stations and has not tested any product.